2012 Legislature TPS Report 58875v1

Agency: Commerce, Community and Economic Development

Grants to Named Recipients (AS 37.05.316)
Grant Recipient: Child Care Connection, Inc.

Project Title: Project Type: Other

Child Care Connection, Inc. - Equipment and Safety Improvements

State Funding Requested: \$75,000 House District: Anchorage Areawide (16-32)

One-Time Need

Brief Project Description:

Funding is needed to replace cribs to meet new national safety standards in licensed early care and education programs.

Funding Plan:

Total Project Cost:	\$100,000
Funding Already Secured:	(\$0)
FY2013 State Funding Request:	(\$75,000)
Project Deficit:	\$25,000

Detailed Project Description and Justification:

Funding for cribs that meet new U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and follow Federal Child Care Regulation requirements is needed. These cribs will be distributed to Licensed Child Care providers, licensed by the Municipality of Anchorage (MOA) to ensure infant safety, prevent injury and prevent Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). Eligible programs will complete appropriate safety training and be required to have safe sleep policies in place at their businesses. New cribs would support early care and education programs as small business owners in ensuring they are providing the safest place for Alaska babies to sleep.

Funding is needed to replace cribs to meet the new national safety standards in licensed early care and education programs. For 334 new cribs in licensed programs in Anchorage, at a price of \$299/each, would total = \$100,000.

Project Timeline:

Funds will be used through the five year grant period after receipt of the funds

Entity Responsible for the Ongoing Operation and Maintenance of this Project:

Child Care Connection, Inc dba thread

For use by Co-chair Staff Only: \$75,000 AOProved

Federal Tax ID: 92-0113419

2012 Legislature TPS Report 58875v1

Name: Stephanie Berglund

Title: CEO

Address: 3350 Commercial Dr. Ste 203

Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Phone Number: (907)265-3101

Email: sberglund@threadalaska.org

Has this project been through a public review process at the local level and is it a community priority? Yes X No

Page 2



thread Capital Budget Request: Updating Cribs for Infant Safety

Total Project Cost: \$100,000

\$100,000 is needed to place cribs meeting new national safety standards in licensed early care and education programs. For 334 new cribs in licensed programs in Anchorage, at a price of \$299/each, would total = \$100,000.

Project Description: Funding for cribs that meet new U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and follow Federal Child Care Regulation requirements is needed. These cribs will be distributed to Licensed Child Care providers, licensed by the Municipality of Anchorage (MOA) to ensure infant safety, prevent injury and prevent Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). Eligible programs will complete appropriate safety training and be required to have safe sleep policies in place at their businesses. New cribs would support early care and education programs as small business owners in ensuring they are providing the safest place for Alaska babies to sleep.

Background:

Last June, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) voted unanimously to approve new mandatory crib standards, establishing the most stringent crib safety standards in the world. Anchorage currently has 45 Licensed Child Care centers and 200 Licensed Family Child Care homes. These early care and education settings each provide child care services to an average of four infants and in centers, up to eight to twelve babies, based on the MOA Licensing requirements.

Effective June 28, 2011, all importers, distributors, manufacturers, and retailers must offer only cribs that meet the CPSC's new and improved full-size and non-full-size crib standards. Child care facilities, family child care homes, and places of public accommodation, have until December 28, 2012, to ensure the cribs used in their facilities meet the requirements of the CPSC's. (see attached Federal Child Care Regulation).

Some of the new mandatory rules for cribs include: (1) stopping the manufacture and sale of dangerous, traditional drop-side cribs; (2) strengthening mattress supports and crib slats; (3) requiring crib hardware to be more durable; and (4) making safety testing more rigorous.

CPSC has recalled more than 11 million dangerous cribs since 2007. Drop-side cribs with detaching side rails were associated with at least 32 infant suffocation and strangulation deaths since 2000. Additional deaths have occurred due to faulty or defective crib hardware. The new standards aim to prevent these tragedies and keep children safer in their cribs.



\$100,000, which translates to one crib for each Licensed program in Anchorage, would help ensure all businesses can afford to implement this regulation by the deadline of December 28, 2012. This support is critical to child care businesses who already struggle with high costs of providing early care and education services coupled with meeting all necessary regulations. While support for these businesses is crucial, even more so is ensuring Alaska babies have the safest places to sleep.







National Center on Child Care Quality Improvement



Federal Crib Requirements Addressed in State Child Care Licensing Regulations

Federal Crib Requirements

According to the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), more than 11 million dangerous cribs have been recalled since 2007. Drop-side cribs with detaching side rails were associated with at least 32 infant suffocation and strangulation deaths since 2000. Additional deaths have occurred due to faulty or defective crib hardware. New standards were mandated by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA) and unanimously approved in 2010. The new standards aim to prevent these tragedies and keep children safer in their cribs.

Effective June 28, 2011, cribs manufactured, sold, or leased in the United States must comply with the new Federal standards. Effective December 28, 2012, all cribs that a child care provider uses must meet all of the requirements of 16 C.F.R. part 1219 (for full-size cribs) or 16 C.F.R. part 1220 (for non-full-size cribs).

Current information about the new Federal regulations and product recall is available from the CPSC's online Crib Information Center at http://www.cpsc.gov/info/cribs/index.html. The Final Rules are "16 CFR Parts 1219, 1220, 1500, et al. Full-Size Baby Cribs and Non-Full-Size Baby Cribs: Safety Standards; Revocation of Requirements; Third Party Testing for Certain Children's Products; Final Rules," in "Part III Consumer Product Safety Commission," in Federal Register Vol. 75, No. 248, Tuesday, December 28, 2010, available at http://www.cpsc.gov/businfo/frnotices/fr11/cribfinal.pdf.

Medical or hospital cribs used in child care settings, if designated as a medical device, are regulated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and are not required to comply with the new CPSC crib standards. However, it should be confirmed that the crib manufacturer is approved by the FDA, the model is listed as a medical device (see http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfPMN/pmn.cfm), and that it complies with other basic crib requirements contained in licensing regulations.

This document provides excerpts from State child care licensing regulations for child care centers and family child care homes that address the Federal requirements for cribs. In most cases, the States have language in their regulations that require providers to only use cribs that meet all CPSC guidelines or laws.

The Office of Child Care's National Center on Child Care Quality Improvement does not endorse any non-Federal organization, publication, or resource.

State Licensing Regulations for Child Care Centers

The following are excerpts from child care center licensing regulations from seven States that address Federal requirements for cribs and other sleeping equipment.

Arkansas

Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Centers (11/1/2011)

January 2012 Email: OCCQualityCenter@icfi.com Phone: 877-296-2250

http://nrckids.org/STATES/AR/ar centers 2011.pdf

1000 FURNITURE & EQUIPMENT

1003 Infant & Toddler Sleeping Equipment

- 1. Any cribs or playpens that have been identified as unsafe, or have been subject to recall as defined by the Consumer Products Safety Commission (CPSC) guidelines or law, shall be removed or repaired as indicated.
- 2. An individually labeled crib or safe playpen with a waterproof mattress shall be provided for each child less than 12 months of age. A bassinet shall not be used. (Please note that the CPSC does not recommend the use of playpens in licensed child care.)
- 3. The following guidelines shall be required for cribs:
 - a. Slats shall be no greater than 2 3/8" apart
 - b. Cribs that have end panels with decorative cutout areas shall not be used
 - c. Mattresses shall fit snugly in the crib, be waterproof and in good repair.
 - d. The space between crib and mattress shall measure no more than 1 inch.
 - e. Corner posts shall be the same height as end panels
 - f. End panels shall extend below mattress at the lowest position of the mattress

District of Columbia

"Chapter 3: Child Development Facilities," in "Title 29," in *District of Columbia Municipal Regulations* (4/27/2007) http://nrckids.org/STATES/DC/districtofcolumbia.htm

365 COTS, CRIBS, AND INFANT PLAY

365.4 The Facility may only use cribs and cots that meet the standards established by the Consumer Product Safety Commission.

lowa

"Chapter 109 Child Care Centers," in "Human Services Department [441]," in *Iowa Administrative Code* (4/6/2011) http://nrckids.org/STATES/IA/iowa.htm

441—109.12(237A) ACTIVITY PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.

109.12(5) Infant environment.

- e. Children under the age of one year shall be placed on their backs when sleeping unless otherwise authorized by a parent or physician. A crib or criblike furniture which has a waterproof mattress covering and sufficient bedding to enable a child to rest comfortably and which meets the current standards or recommendations from the Consumer Product Safety Commission or the American Society for Testing and Materials for juvenile products shall be provided for each child under two years of age if developmentally appropriate. Crib railings shall be fully raised and secured when the child is in the crib. A crib or criblike furniture shall be provided for the number of children present at any one time. The center shall develop procedures for maintaining all cribs or criblike furniture and bedding in a clean and sanitary manner. There shall be no restraining devices of any type used in cribs.
- f. When playpens are provided, no more than one child shall be placed in one at any time.
- h. For programs operating five hours or less on a daily basis, the center shall have a sufficient number of cribs or criblike furniture which has a waterproof mattress covering and sufficient bedding to enable a child to rest comfortably and which meets the current standards from the Consumer Product Safety Commission or the American Society for Testing and Materials for juvenile products for children who may nap during the time in attendance. Cribs or criblike furniture shall be used by only one child at a time and shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary manner.

Maryland

"Subtitle 16: Child Care Centers," in "Title 13A: State Board of Education," in *Annotated Code of Maryland* (3/21/2011)

http://nrckids.org/STATES/MD/maryland.htm

.04 REST FURNISHINGS.

C. Each crib shall meet the standards of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

North Dakota

Child Care Center - North Dakota Early Childhood Services Chapter 75-03-10 (1/1/2011) http://nrckids.org/STATES/ND/northdakota.htm

75-03-10-24. SPECIALIZED TYPES OF CARE AND MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS.

- 1. Infant care.
- d. Sleeping.
 - (2) The operator shall ensure that infants sleep in a crib with a firm mattress or in a portable crib with the manufacturer's pad that meets consumer product safety commission standards.

Oregon

"Division 300: Rules for Certified Child Care Centers," in *Oregon Administrative Rules* (1/1/2010) http://nrckids.org/STATES/OR/oregon.htm

414-300-0215 INFANT AND TODDLER FURNITURE AND EQUIPMENT

(1) Each infant shall have a crib, portable crib, or play pen with a clean, non-absorbent mattress that meets the following requirements:

- (a) Each crib shall be of sturdy construction with vertical slats no more than 2 3/8" apart;
- (b) Locks and latches on the dropside of a crib shall be safe and secure from accidental release or release by the infant inside the crib;
- (c) Cribs shall not be used with the dropside down;
- (d) Each mattress shall fit snugly;
- (e) Each mattress shall be covered by a sheet;
- (f) Crib bumpers, if used, shall be easily cleanable, durable, and not dangerous to children;
- (g) There shall be no restraining devices of any type used unless prescribed by a physician; and
- (h) Wall or stacking cribs shall not be used.
- (2) Sleeping arrangements other than cribs, portable cribs or playpens must be approved by CCD.
- (3) There shall be at least two feet of space between cribs, portable cribs or play pens when in use. They shall be arranged in a manner that allows for a direct, unobstructed passage to each child.
- (7) Cribs, portable cribs, playpens, and high chairs must meet US Consumer Product Safety Commission or equivalent standards.

South Carolina

"114-500: Regulations for the Licensing of Child Care Centers," in *Chapter 114: Department of Social Services* (6/24/2005)

http://nrckids.org/STATES/SC/southcarolina.htm

114-507 PHYSICAL SITE

- D. Rest equipment
- (1) Cribs shall meet the requirements of the US Consumer Products Safety Commission (CPSC).

State Licensing Regulations for Family Child Care Homes

The following are excerpts from child care center licensing regulations from five States that address Federal requirements for cribs and other sleeping equipment.

Maryland

"Subtitle 15: Family Child Care," in "Title 13A: State Board of Education," in *Annotated Code of Maryland* (3/21/2011)

http://nrckids.org/STATES/MD/maryland.htm

.06 REST FURNISHINGS.

E. Each crib, portable crib, and playpen that is used for child care shall meet the standards of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

Michigan

Licensing Rules for Family and Group Child Care Homes (6/3/2009) http://nrckids.org/STATES/MI/michigan.htm

R 400.1916 BEDDING AND SLEEPING EQUIPMENT.

Rule 16. (1) All bedding and equipment shall be in accordance with U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (http://www.cpsc.gov/) standards as approved for the age of the child using the equipment and shall be clean, comfortable, safe, and in good repair.

- (4) All cribs or porta-cribs shall be equipped with a firm, tight-fitting mattress with a waterproof, washable covering, as recommended and approved by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.
- (5) Infants, birth to 12 months of age, shall rest or sleep alone in an approved crib or porta-crib. A crib shall have all of the following:
 - (a) A firm, tight-fitting mattress.
 - (b) No loose, missing, or broken hardware or slats.
 - (c) Not more than 2 3/8" between the slats.
 - (d) No corner posts over 1/16" high.
 - (e) No cutout designs in the headboard or footboard.
 - (f) A tightly fitted bottom sheet shall cover a firm mattress with no additional padding placed between the sheet and mattress.

Oregon

"Division 350: Rules for Certified Family Child Care Homes," in *Oregon Administrative Rules* (1/1/2010) http://nrckids.org/STATES/OR/oregon.htm

414-350-0235 INFANT AND TODDLER FURNITURE AND EQUIPMENT

(5) Cribs, portable cribs, playpens, and high chairs must meet US Consumer Product Safety Commission or equivalent standards.

Virginia

Minimum Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes (3/2011) http://nrckids.org/STATES/VA/virginia.htm

22 VAC 40-111-520. CRIBS.

- C. Cribs shall:
- 1. Meet the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission standards at the time they were manufactured;

Interpretation of § 520 C 1: New federal regulations now require that all cribs in family day homes must comply with Consumer Product Safety Commission standards, which prohibit the use of drop-sided cribs. These new regulations require compliance beginning 12/28/2012. See http://www.cpsc.gov/info/cribs/index.html for further information.

- 2. Not have been recalled;
- 3. Have no more than six centimeters or 2-3/8 inches of space between slats;
- 4. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress and the crib;
- 5. Not have end panel cutouts of a size to cause head entrapment; and
- 6. Not have mesh sides.

Washington

Chapter 170-296A WAC: Licensed Family Home Child Care Standards (effective 3/31/2012) http://del.wa.gov/publications/laws/docs/FHCC final %20annotated 111411.pdf

WAC 170-296A-7085 CRIBS.

In order to meet federal requirements, a licensee who uses a crib with children in care must comply with this section.

- (1) Effective December 28, 2012, each crib in use in licensed child care must meet U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) requirements for full-size cribs as defined in 16 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) 1219, or nonfull-size cribs as defined in 16 C.F.R. 1220.
- (2) A crib meets the requirements of this section if the crib is labeled by the manufacturer as made on or after June 28, 2011.
- (3) A crib labeled as made from July 1, 2010 through June 27, 2011, may meet the requirements of this section if the licensee has obtained a certificate of compliance from the crib manufacturer or importer, or the licensee has other documentation from the manufacturer that the crib is certified as meeting the CPSC regulations.
- (4) A crib that does not meet the requirements of subsection (2) or (3) of this section must be removed from the child care facility not later than December 28, 2012.
- (5) The licensee must keep in the licensed space a log documenting that each crib in use meets the requirements of this section.